Hyundai Heavy Industries Co., Ltd.

Home > Sectors & Opportunities > Industrial & Manufacturing > Hyundai Heavy Industries Co., Ltd.

The world’s largest maritime industrial complex

 

A story of three actors

 

The global shipbuilding industry has had a challenging few years on the back of a worldwide contraction in trade volumes and a consequent decline in demand for commodity ships and offshore vessels. With global macroeconomic prospects improving in the near term, the industry is also expected to rebound in 2018.

 

In this context, South Korea, the world’s largest shipbuilding nation, and Saudi Arabia, the world’s largest oil-exporting nation, reached an agreement in 2017 to take their long-standing business relationship to the next level. The story of this renewed investment commitment features three main actors with a deeply rooted business partnership – Saudi Aramco, the National Shipping Company of Saudi Arabia (Bahri) and Hyundai Heavy Industries (HHI).

 

Saudi Arabia has been exporting oil for almost 80 years. The first tanker load of Saudi crude oil was exported in 1939 on board of the D.G. Scofield, a ship that carried less than one-twentieth of a modern oil tanker’s load. Today Saudi Arabia has grown to be the world’s largest oil exporter, accounting for roughly 18% of global oil exports in 2016.

 

To serve Saudi Aramco’s captive market, Bahri was established by the Saudi government in 1978 to support the Kingdom’s crude oil export growth. The flag carrier has progressively diversified beyond oil barges to add the shipping capacity for chemicals, dry bulk and multi-purpose cargo. Today, Bahri has a fleet of 90 vessels, of which 43 are Very Large Crude Carriers (VLCCs). This makes Bahri the world’s largest owner and operator of VLCCs, with a total of 11.6m of deadweight tonnage (DWT).

 

Over the past decades, 34 of Bahri’s vessels were supplied by our third actor, Korea-based HHI. HHI started fabricating vessels in 1972, while HHI’s offshore structures unit commenced in 1976, when the yard received an order from Saudi Arabia for the fabrication of 89 jackets and offshore structures to serve Jubail’s industrial projects, in the Kingdom’s eastern region. Over the years, HHI has grown to become the world’s largest shipbuilding company and to operate the world’s largest offshore yard. With its only shipyard facilities located in Ulsan, South Korea, HHI has a global market share of approximately 10% and a total production capacity of 200m DWT in 2017.

 

 

Seizing the opportunity

 

In 2016 Saudi Arabia launched its Vision 2030 plan to overhaul the economy, reduce its dependence on oil resources and localize value-added components of the supply chain across all sectors. As a key Vision 2030 driver, Saudi Arabia is aiming to build local industrial capacity for major imported items, including military equipment and automotive vehicles, as well as oil rigs and shipping vessels. The Vision’s launch provided the spark for our story to begin.

 

The Kingdom’s national oil company, Saudi Aramco, for decades hired offshore vessels and oil rigs from third-party suppliers such as HHI to service its operations. In line with its vertical integration strategic approach, however, and in line with Vision 2030 targets, Aramco is now taking steps to expand into offshore services and operations.

 

On the one hand, Vision 2030 represented the perfect ground for Saudi Aramco and Bahri to incentivize a closer relationship with a main global supplier such as HHI. On the other hand, Vision 2030’s investment incentives provided HHI with the opportunity to stay ahead of competitors during a global industry slowdown, strengthen relationships with major customers and expand its shipbuilding capacity beyond the Ulsan shipyard.

These factors led to the December 2017 Saudi Aramco, Bahri, HHI and UAE-based engineering company Lamprell signing of an agreement to jointly create, develop and operate a $5.2bn integrated maritime yard, the International Maritime Industries (IMI) at the King Salman International Complex for Maritime Industries in Ras Al Khair, on the eastern coast of Saudi Arabia.

 

The nearly 12m-square-metre IMI facility will be the largest in the region in terms of scale and capacity. As the anchor project of the maritime complex, IMI will supply Saudi Aramco and Bahri with an impressive mix of products and maintenance, repair and overhaul (MRO) services. At full capacity the yard will be able to deliver 40 vessels, including three VLCCs, and four offshore rigs, as well as service over 260 maritime products each year. With the first products expected to roll out from IMI in 2019, the yard will reach full capacity in 2022.

 

The 60-year joint venture contract is targeting both local and global demand. Locally, IMI has stipulated off-take agreements with both Saudi Aramco and Bahri. Around 50% of the IMI’s rig fabrication capacity will be allocated to Saudi Aramco, while 30% of the shipbuilding capacity will be purchased by Bahri. The localization of MRO services, oil rigs and vessels will help the two Saudi shareholders to optimize costs, demand specifications and increase overall efficiency.

 

The remaining production capacity – 50% of oil rigs and 70% of shipbuilding – will be used by the Korean shipbuilding giant to serve the global market through its existing sales network. Given its strong shareholder base and competitive location, IMI will be competing with regional yards in the UAE and Bahrain, as well as Asian producers, which have dominated the market in the past decades.

 

IMI represents the first shipyard beyond the Korean national borders to which HHI has ever provided investment capital and technical support. With this investment, HHI will be able to benefit from Saudi Aramco’s pulling power to quickly scale up, capture more of the global market and influence market forces.

 

 

The wider impact

 

HHI’s investment and the broader King Salman International Complex for Maritime Industries fulfill many of the key elements of Vision 2030 and the In-Kingdom Total Value Add (IKTVA) program. The latter is a program launched by Saudi Aramco in 2015 to increase its local procurement ratios and support the growth of Saudi-based contractors.

 

As a high-level goal, Vision 2030 aims to grow Saudi Arabia’s economy from being the 19th-largest global economy to enter the top 15 by 2030. The maritime complex in Ras Al Khair, of which IMI will be the anchor tenant, is expected to contribute $17bn to the Kingdom’s GDP, of which $12bn is expected to come from the import substitution of maritime products and services. Localization is arguably the most important factor contributing to this goal. Vision 2030 aims to increase the localization of the oil and gas sector from 40% to 75% by 2030. Through its IKTVA targets, Saudi Aramco is expecting to contribute by achieving 70% localization of all spending by 2021.

 

The IMI joint venture investment with HHI will play an important part towards meeting the localization goal. The shipyard is aiming to utilize 60% local content by 2020 and 80% by 2030. This will mostly involve tapping into and potentially expanding the local steel value chain, as steel products are expected to contribute to approximately 90% of the shipyard’s raw materials. In smaller amounts, the shipyard activities will require the provision of bronze and aluminum supplies. The localization of IMI’s procurement is therefore expected to create further investment opportunities in the steel, bronze and aluminum value chain in the Ras Al Khair industrial complex.

 

Vision 2030 aims to lower the rate of unemployment from 11.6% to 7% by 2030, with Saudi Aramco’s IKTVA program contributing to the indirect employment of 500,000 new hires by 2021. The Ras Al Khair complex by itself is expected to create more than 80,000 direct and indirect jobs by 2030. As part of this goal, the HHI-backed yard is planning to employ 6,000 people by 2020, of which 27% will be Saudi, and 15,000 employees by 2030, with a 51% Saudiization rate.

 

As part of the investment and technical support agreement, HHI is expected to begin with a heavy presence of Korean foremen at the complex and gradually hand over operations to Saudi staff. In parallel, the newly established National Maritime Academy (NMA) in Ras Al Khair will be providing Saudi professionals with training in the skills demanded by the maritime and shipbuilding industry. The NMA will initially train 1,400 students per year, and later expand capacity to 2,000 students.

 

Lastly, Vision 2030 initiatives are expected to raise the share of non-oil exports from 16% to 50% of non-oil GDP. As part of the IMI’s off-take agreements, the new shipyard will export 50% of its oil rigs and 70% of its shipbuilding production capacity. At full capacity, that should consist of two offshore oil rigs and approximately 28 vessels targeting the global market.

 

In conclusion, HHI’s recent investment in Saudi Arabia provides a case study of how a long-term trading partnership in the global oil export value chain was able to find in Vision 2030 the right platform to evolve. HHI, along with Saudi Aramco and Bahri, were able to seize the opportunity to strengthen their relationship while pursuing an aggressive growth strategy during a worldwide industry downturn.

 

Global presence
Exporting to Over 50 Countries
Date of establishment globally
23 Mar 1972
Date of Saudi market entry
Dec, 2017
Annual revenue globally
2016: appx $36bn
Total investment in Saudi Arabia
$70m
Saudization rate
27% by 2020, 51% by 2030
Percentage of local content achieved
60% by 2020, 80% by 2030
Hyundai Heavy Industries Co., Ltd.
  • Ras Al Khair Industrial City
    Location
    • Established JV Shipbuilding Company with Saudi ARAMCO, BAHRI, and Lamprell.
    Operations
  • Shipbuilding/Heavy Industries company
    Industry
  • 16,000
    Employees Worldwide
  • 6,000 by 2020, 15,000 by 2030
    Employees in Saudi Arabia
  • Republic of Korea
    Country of Origin

هونداي للصناعات الثقيلة

قصة النجاح الثلاثي

 

شهدت صناعة السفن العالمية عدة تحديات في السنوات الماضية، والذي تبع التقلص في حجم التجارة وتراجع الطلب على سفن السلع والسفن الساحلية، وبتحسن توقعات الاقتصاد الكلي في المستقبل القريب، فمن المتوقع أن تنتعش الصناعة في 2018 م.

 

وقد توصلت كلا من كوريا الجنوبية المهيمنة على صناعة السفن في العالم وأكبر مصدر للنفط المملكة العربية السعودية، إلى اتفاق يعنى بخدمة العلاقة التجارية للدولتين في عام 2017 م، حيث تضمنت الاتفاقية ثلاث جهات فاعلة تجمعها علاقة تجارية قوية وهي أرامكو السعودية، والشركة الوطنية السعودية للنقل البحري (بحري)، وهونداي للصناعات الثقيلة.

 

فيما عرفت المملكة بتصدير النفط لما يقارب الثمانين عاما، حيث شهد عام 1939م أول شحنة تصدير من النفط السعودي على ظهر الناقلة دي جي سكوفيلد، والتي كانت حمولتها تساوي 1/20 من حمولة أية ناقلة عملاقة حديثة، واليوم تعد المملكة أكبر مصدر للنفط في العالم بصادرات للنفط بلغت  حوالي 18% في عام 2016.

 

إلى ذلك، تعد الشركة الوطنية السعودية للنقل البحري (بحري) شركة مساهمة تأسست في عام 1978 م، للمساهمة في خدمة تنمية صادرات النفط الخام، وقد تنوعت خدمات الشركة تدريجيا لتضم إلى جانب مراكب النفط كلا من شحن بضائع المواد الكيميائية، والمواد السائبة الجافة، والبضائع متعددة الأغراض، إذ يضم الأسطول اليوم 90 ناقلة منها 43 ناقلات نفط ضخمة، مما جعل شركة (بحري) أكبر مشغل، ومالك لناقلات النفط العملاقة في العالم، حيث تصل حمولتها الساكنة لـ 11.6 مليون.

 

كما تتسلم شركة (بحري) طيلة العقد الماضي 34 من ناقلاتها من هونداي للصناعات الثقيلة الكورية، إذ بدأت هونداي بتصنيع الناقلات في عام 1972، بينما بدأت وحدة الهياكل البحرية التابعة لهونداي في عام 1976، وذلك عندما تلقت الشركة طلبًا من السعودية لتصنيع 89 منصة وهياكل بحرية لخدمة مشاريع الجبيل الصناعية في المنطقة الشرقية.

 

وقد نمت "هونداي" لتصبح أكبر شركة لبناء السفن في العالم، وأكبر مشغل ساحة بحرية في العالم مع مرافقها لبناء السفن الوحيدة والموجودة في مدينة أولسان بكوريا الجنوبية، حيث تتمتع "هونداي" بحصة سوق عالمية تبلغ 10٪ تقريبًا، وبطاقة إنتاجية إجمالية وصلت إلى 200 مليون واط في عام 2017.

 

 

اغتنام الفرصة

 

أطلقت المملكة العربية السعودية خطة رؤية 2030 في عام 2016، لإصلاح الاقتصاد وتقليل اعتمادها على النفط، وتوطين مكونات القيمة المضافة لسلسلة التوريد عبر جميع القطاعات، وباعتبارها المحرك الرئيسي لرؤية 2030 ونقطة الانطلاق، تهدف المملكة لبناء قدرات صناعية محلية لأهم السلع المستوردة، بما في ذلك المعدات العسكرية، والمركبات إلى جانب منصات النفط، وسفن الشحن.

 

وقد استأجرت شركة النفط الوطنية في المملكة العربية السعودية (أرامكو السعودية)، سفنا ساحلية، ومنصات نفط من موردين آخرين مثل "هونداي" لخدمة عملياتها، وتماشيًا مع استراتيجية التكامل الرأسي وأهداف رؤية 2030، كما تتخذ "أرامكو" الآن خطوات للتوسع في الخدمات والعمليات الخارجية.

 

إلى ذلك تمثل رؤية 2030 منصة انطلاق مثالية لكل من شركة أرامكو السعودية، والشركة الوطنية السعودية للنقل البحري (بحري)، لتحفيز العلاقة بشكل أعمق مع مورد عالمي رئيسي مثل "هونداي"، حيث قدمت حوافز الاستثمار في رؤية 2030 فرصة لبقاء شركة "هونداي" في طليعة المنافسين خلال تباطؤ نشاط الصناعة العالمي، وتعزيز العلاقات مع أهم العملاء وتوسيع قدرتها على بناء السفن،  والذي يفوق حوض سفن أولسان.

 

كما ساهمت تلك العناصر في إبرام الاتفاقية المشتركة بين "أرامكو"، و"بحري"، و "هونداي"، ولامبريل الإماراتية، والتي تهدف إلى تأسيس، وتطوير، وتشغيل مجمع عالمي للصناعات البحرية بقيمة تقدر بـ 5.2 مليار ريال، وذلك ضمن مجمع الملك سلمان العالمي للصناعات والخدمات البحرية، والواقع في مدينة رأس الخير الصناعية على ساحل الشرقي من المملكة.

 

فيما يميز المشروع الذي تبلغ مساحته 12 مليون متر مربع تقريبًا كونه الأكبر في المنطقة من حيث الحجم، والطاقة الإنتاجية، وباعتباره المشروع الرئيسي للمجمعات الصناعية، ستمول المجمعات أرامكو السعودية، و"بحري"، بمجموعة من خدمات الصيانة والاصلاح والتجديد، وسيكون المجمع قادرًا على تصنيع أربع منصات حفر بحرية، وبناء أكثر من 40 سفينة، بما في ذلك 3 ناقلات نفط عملاقة، وخدمة أكثر من 260 منتجًا بحريًا سنويًا، ومن المتوقع بدء أعمال الإنتاج في عام 2019م، حيث سيصل المشروع إلى طاقته التشغيلية الكاملة بحلول 2022م.  

 

ويستهدف عقد المشروع المشترك والذي يمتد لـ 60 عاما، الطلب المحلي والعالمي، فعلى  الصعيد المحلي، قررت شركة الصناعات البحرية العالمية عقد اتفاقية شراء مع أرامكو السعودية، و"بحري"، حيث سيتم تخصيص حوالي 50% من طاقة تصنيع المنصات لشركة أرامكو، في حين ستشتري البحري 30% من طاقة بناء السفن، وسيساعد توطين خدمات شركة الصناعات البحرية العالمية، ومنصات النفط ،والسفن المساهمين السعوديين على تحسين التكاليف، ومواصفات الطلب، وزيادة الكفاءة العامة.

 

وستستخدم شركة بناء السفن الكورية 50% من الطاقة الإنتاجية المتبقية من منصات النفط، و 70% من بناء السفن، وذلك لخدمة السوق العالمية من خلال شبكة مبيعاتها الحالية، ونظراً لما تتمتع به شركة الصناعات البحرية العالمية من قاعدة مساهمين قوية، ومكانة تنافسية، تمكنها من التنافس مع الساحات الإقليمية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، والبحرين، فضلا عن المنتجين الآسيويين الذين هيمنوا على السوق في العقود الماضية.

 

وتُعد شركة الصناعات البحرية العالمية أول حوض لبناء السفن يتجاوز حدود كوريا الجنوبية، كما أنها الأولى التي تقدم لها "هونداي" الدعم المادي والتقني، لتتمكن "هونداي" من خلال هذا الاستثمار من الاستفادة من قوة شركة أرامكو السعودية، التي ستساهم في التوسع السريع، والاستحواذ على قوة وتأثر السوق العالمي.

 

التأثير الواسع

 

تحقق استثمارات شركة "هونداي" ومجمع الملك سلمان العالمي للصناعات والخدمات البحرية عناصر رؤية 2030، وبرنامج تعزيز القيمة المضافة الإجمالية في المملكة (اكتفاء)، وهو برنامج أطلقته أرامكو السعودية في عام 2015 م، بهدف زيادة نسب المشتريات المحلية ودعم نمو المتعاقدين السعوديين.

 

وتهدف رؤية 2030 للارتقاء باقتصاد المملكة ونقله من المرتبة الـ 19 كأكبر اقتصاد عالمي إلى الـ 15 بحلول عام 2030م، ومن المتوقع أن يسهم مجمع الصناعات البحرية في رأس الخير بـ 17 مليار ريال لإجمالي الناتج المحلي، منها 12 مليار ريال قد تأتي من استبدال الواردات من المنتجات والخدمات البحرية، حيث يبرز دور التوطين هنا كعامل مهم يسهم في تحقيق هذا الهدف، من خلال زيادة توطين قطاع النفط والغاز من 40٪ إلى 75٪ بحلول عام 2030، ومن خلال أهداف (اكتفاء) من المتوقع أن تسهم أرامكو السعودية  بتحقيق 70٪ من توطين جميع الإنفاق بحلول عام 2021.

 

فيما سيسهم الاستثمار المشترك بين شركة الصناعات البحرية العالمية، و"هونداي" في تحقيق أهداف التوطين، حيث يهدف حوض السفن إلى استغلال 60% من المحتوى المحلي بحلول 2020، و 80% بحلول 2030، وسيتضمن هذا في الغالب استغلال سلسلة القيمة لمواد الصلب وتوسيعها، إذ يتوقع أن تساهم منتجات الصلب في حوالي 90% من المواد الخام لحوض السفن، كما ستتطلب أنشطة بناء حوض السفن إلى توفير إمدادات مواد البرونز والألومنيوم، حيث سيؤدي توطين مشتريات شركة الصناعات البحرية العالمية لخلق فرص استثمارية في سلسلة القيمة لمواد الصلب والبرونز والألومنيوم في مجمع رأس الخير الصناعي.

 

وتهدف رؤية 2030 إلى خفض معدل البطالة من 11.6% إلى 7% بحلول عام  2030، كما سيساهم برنامج "اكتفاء" بتعيين 500 ألف موظف جديد بحلول 2021، ومن المتوقع أن يسهم مجمع رأس الخير في توليد فرص عمل مباشرة وغير مباشرة تزيد عن 80 ألف وظيفة بحلول 2030، وسعيا في تحقيق هذا الهدف تعتزم "هونداي" توظيف 6000 شخص بحلول عام 2020، منها 27% للسعوديين، وبحلول عام 2030 سيتم توظيف 15,000 موظف بمعدل سعودة يبلغ 51%.

 

وكجزء من اتفاقية الاستثمار والدعم الفني، فمن المتوقع أن تبدأ شركة "هونداي" بحضور قوي لمراقبي العمل، وتسليم العمليات تدريجيا للموظفين السعوديين، في الوقت الذي ستوفر الأكاديمية الوطنية البحرية المنشأه حديثا في رأس الخير، التدريب للمهنيين السعوديين لتدريبهم على المهارات التي تتطلبها صناعة السفن البحرية، وستقوم الأكاديمية البحرية الوطنية بدايةً بتدريب 1,400 طالب سنويا وستتوسع لاحقا لتدريب 2,000 طالب.

 

وأخيراً، من المتوقع أن تزيد مبادرات رؤية 2030 حصة الصادرات غير النفطية من 16% إلى 50% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي، وكجزء من اتفاقية البيع المسبق سيصدر حوض السفن الجديد 50% من حفاراته النفطية، و 70% من القدرة الانتاجية لبناء السفن، وتحقيق أقصى قدرة إنتاجية، مما يعني ذلك تصنيع حفارتي نفط بحرية و 28 سفينة لاستهداف الأسواق العالمية.  

 

وفي الختام، يمثل استثمار هونداي الأخير في المملكة العربية السعودية دراسة حالة عن طريقة تمكن الشراكة التجارية في سلسلة القيمة العالمية لصادرات النفط من وجود المنصة المناسبة للتطور ضمن رؤية 2030، مما مكن "هونداي" إلى جانب أرامكو السعودية و"بحري" من اغتنام الفرصة لتعزيز علاقتهما باتباع استراتيجية نمو قوية خلال وقت تدهورت فيه الصناعة العالمية.

الوجود العالمي
التصدير لأكثر من 50 دولة
تاريخ التأسيس عالميًا
3 مارس 1972
تاريخ الدخول للسوق السعودي
ديسمبر، 2017.
العائد السنوي عالميا
2016: ما يقارب 36 مليار دولار
إجمالي الاستثمارات في المملكة العربية السعودية
70 مليون دولار
معدل السعودة
27% بحلول 2020 و 51% بحلول 2030
نسبة المحتوى المحلي المحقق
60% بحلول عام 2020 و 80% بحلول 2030
هونداي للصناعات الثقيلة
  • مدينة رأس الخير الصناعية
    الموقع
    • إقامة مشروع مشترك لإنشاء شركة لبناء السفن مع أرامكو والبحري ولامبريل
    الأنشطة والخدمات
  • صناعة السفن والصناعات الثقيلة
    القطاع الصناعي
  • 16,000 موظف
    الموظفين في جميع أنحاء العالم
  • 6000 موظف بحلول 2020، و 15,000 موظف بحلول 2030
    الموظفين في المملكة العربية السعودية
  • جمهورية كوريا
    بلد المنشأ
beta