GlaxoSmithKline

Local production helps meet growing demand for pharmaceuticals

                                                                                                     

Saudi Arabia today boasts one the largest pharmaceutical markets in the GCC region, and one that has experienced exponential growth over the past century. Several factors have contributed to the expansion of the Saudi pharmaceutical market, including a growing population and rising GDP per capita, as well as an increasing incidence of non-communicable diseases, which typically require long-term treatment and management.

 

In 2016, Saudi Arabia launched its Vision 2030 strategy, which identifies the local pharmaceutical industry as key to the growth of the Kingdom’s non-oil industrial base. To this end, the government is establishing an ecosystem that encourages domestic and international pharmaceutical players to invest in expanding the sector’s local capabilities.

 

In this context, the British healthcare company which has a strong focus and leading position in Respiratory, HIV, Vaccines as well as many famous consumer brands, GSK, whom has been selling products in Saudi Arabia for 60 years, has been expanding its operations of late.

 

GSK ascendant

 

Indeed, the company’s history in the Kingdom has largely been told over the last quarter-century. In 1992, GSK partnered with the local Banaja Holding Company Limited and began operating within Saudi Arabia. The plant built by the partners was the first multinational pharmaceutical plant established in Saudi Arabia and a real statement of intent.

 

The move, which was pioneering at a time when the Kingdom’s pharmaceutical industry was in its infancy, gave GSK a strong position in the market. While the company has faced a number of challenges in the local market in the intervening years, it has retained its preeminent place in Saudi Arabia’s pharmaceutical industry. Its manufacturing facilities have been repeatedly upgraded and modernized over the last 25 years. Today, 80% of its product portfolio is locally manufactured in Jeddah.

 

Moreover, the local footprint has expanded substantially in the last decade. In 2012, GSK took the decision to localize the manufacture of between 40 and 50 products all at once. Then, in 2013, the company began packaging vaccines locally. It was the first manufacturing of any kind of vaccine product in Saudi Arabia. On the back of these decisions the business grew rapidly, so that by 2014 GSK was the number-one pharmaceutical company in the market. With the wind at its back, the British firm signed a deal with its local partner, Banaja Holding Company Limited, to look at further localization of vaccines. Following a change in the foreign ownership laws in the Kingdom in 2017, the GSK acquired an extra 26% share in the local company and now has an ownership stake of 75% in GSK Saudi.

 

A promising local landscape

 

These moves come at a time when the Saudi Arabian pharmaceutical market is taking off. A combination of government support, the drive for diversification and a rapidly expanding consumer market is feeding the local industry. The Kingdom already accounts for 59.4% of all pharmaceutical product purchases in the GCC. This is unlikely to change anytime soon, with the market growing at an average of approximately 10% each year.

 

Furthermore, under the National Transformation Program (NTP) and Vision 2030, the government has set ambitious targets for the sector, including increasing its share in non-oil GDP from a baseline figure of 0.98% to 1.97% by 2020. Similarly, the government envisages the share of local manufacturing to the total pharmaceutical market value rising from 20% to 40% over the same time period.

 

Investing with a long-term view

 

As such, while GSK has certain advantages as an early entrant to the market, it cannot afford to rest on its laurels. The company plans to maintain its preeminent position in the market and has committed to explore all opportunities to invest more over the next three years. This includes plans to expand its production operations in Jeddah by 30% in that period, as well as other investments.

 

The company calls this a “new phase” and has already begun talks with SAGIA and the government about what else it plans to do in the local market. GSK opened a Technical Scientific Services Office and is now looking at launching a trade entity. The company envisages that such moves and the current investment drive will serve it for the next 10 to 20 years, just as the establishment of a manufacturing facility in the early 1990s laid the platform for its success over the last two decades.

 

The company takes a long-term view, which is a reflection of its belief in the country. GSK is currently studying the prospect of using Saudi Arabia as an export hub for the entire GCC. These, however, are likely to be medium- to long-term goals. Saudi production currently only supplies the domestic market, while the GCC continues to be served by the company’s global plants in Europe.

 

Other longer-term ambitions include the possibility of research and development operations within the Kingdom, although this will be dependent on strengthening of the regulatory and technical capacity of local regulatory institutions. On the whole, however, nothing is off the table. The scope of operations in the Kingdom is only likely to be limited by questions of scale and market size. As such, a number of new products, including a range of vaccines and biotech products, could feasibly be added to the company’s roster in the coming decades.

 

In the shorter term, the company is focused on meeting its localization commitments, not only in terms of content and production, but also in terms of human resources. This includes plans to improve retention rates for Saudi employees and a revitalization of the hiring and training process for local staff.

 

This willingness to nurture local talent, deploy capital in the Saudi market, and develop a long-term strategy for growth illustrates the success of the localization of pharmaceutical operations in the Kingdom. Indeed, the story of GSK in Saudi Arabia is confirmation of the viability of the government’s plans for the wider industry under the Vision 2030.

 


 

CEO Interview

Luciano Andrade, Country Manager of GSK Saudi Arabia

 

What are the current conditions for investment in Saudi Arabia?

When we look at the size of the population, the strategic position of the country geographically speaking, the importance this country has in a political and economic sense for the GCC and the wider Middle East, and the activity being done with the Vision 2030, all these things are unique conditions that make us think differently about the market. And we as GSK – because of our 65 years here and because of our manufacturing facility being located here in Saudi Arabia, with 80% of our products already localized in a certain way – we consider ourselves in a very strategic position to be part of the growth that the Kingdom expects from the private sector and the local pharmaceutical industry in the coming years.

 

The choices that we make now and the capacity to partner with the government on Vision 2030 will determine whether or not we succeed with our investment. But the conditions are there for it. Saudi Arabia is a country that looks for good healthcare access for the population. That’s critical for us. We are also supporting and aligning with a country that believes in innovation and protects innovation. There needs to continue to be sustainable pricing conditions compared to other emerging markets. This will be one of the determining factors to define our next move – the willingness of the government to make the environment more predictable. There needs to be the right purchasing policy that will incentivize the kind of investment that brings new technology and innovation into the country.

 

What can feasibly be localized in Saudi Arabia?

I think there are some products and technologies that you can localize, especially tablets. The main condition sometimes is scale. If you go too niche in terms of disease, the localization might not make sense from a scale perspective. One global plant might make the scale more realistic. With a population of over 30m, the scale of the Saudi market is fine for some disease treatments. Having said that, what we need is predictable purchase terms and capacity to export, as well as the technical and regulatory capacity to absorb new production. To bring new vaccines here will trigger new challenges for the regulator, the Saudi Food and Drug Authority (SFDA), in terms of how it sets the right parameters and analysis. It will require adjustments, but I believe we can bring even biotech products to Saudi Arabia. Localization of production is a matter of scale, predictability, price and the patience to develop technical capabilities.

 

There is an appetite for research and development (R&D) locally. The view is right. The pharmaceutical industry is investing much more in R&D than production. But it is important to keep in mind that R&D is a complex situation from the perspective of local knowledge, compliance and IP protection. At present, it is predominantly located in the US and Europe because of these established ecosystems. We can develop it in Saudi Arabia, but we need to keep in mind that we will be competing with other developed pharmaceutical markets in terms of its capabilities and regulation.

 

Have there been improvements in regulation and the registration of new products for the domestic market?

Yes, definitely. The SFDA is making a massive effort to speed up innovation, which is a really positive improvement. The country as a whole is showing impressive efforts to make business easier. There are several reasons why we believe that Saudi Arabia will continue to support and create conditions for innovation. One of these conditions is a relatively fast and very reliable regulatory process.

 

What were the challenges in establishing local operations and how did you overcome them?

In the last year, there have been a lot of changes. I think there is an adaptation that needs to happen with the Saudi population and the way private multinational companies operate. There is an important cultural adjustment taking place in terms of processes and the adoption of global best practices. We welcome the push for Saudization, which we believe is the right direction for the local economy to follow in the long term. We can argue about the speed of the adjustment, but we fully understand where the country is heading. Having said that, we are dealing with a much higher level of turnover than we experience in other markets around the globe, and this requires the adoption of innovative hiring strategies.

 

We have many good examples of Saudi staff that grew and developed within our local facilities and are contributing to the growth of the industry. We have established a future leader program. We are hiring Saudi graduates each year and rotating them through different positions as well as different global GSK locations. We offer them long-term plan to develop their capabilities, and then count on them to lead the business in Saudi Arabia in the future. In the last two years, we succeeded in landing six people that started this program two or three years ago. It’s paying back. We’re doing it for selected people to accelerate development at the managerial level. On the operational side, we are looking at how we can enhance our selection process to make the adaptation process better. The high turnover is much more about adaptation to the private sector work environment than the technical capabilities.

 

How would you assess the infrastructure and logistics environment in Saudi Arabia? What are the competitive advantages?

As an established company, we are still facing some issues on the Customs side, as well as on ports and visas procedures. In particular, the latter is critical, because if we want to expand our business and bring in new technology, we need to bring in technicians that come from all over the world. We do, however, see some improvements in this respect.

 

If you look from the perspective of a new company entering the market, the Kingdom’s main competitive advantages are the investment effort brought about by SAGIA and the new economic cities. This creates an excellent level of incentives to develop new factories locally and discussing partnerships.

Global presence
150
Date of establishment globally
1715
Date of Saudi market entry
1950
Annual revenue globally
GBP 30.19bn in 2017
Annual revenue in Saudi Arabia
Approximately GBP 200m per year (Gross Sales)
Saudization rate
21%
Female employment rate
7%
GlaxoSmithKline
  • KSA
    Location
    • consumer healthcare products
    Operations
  • Healthcare, Pharmaceutical
    Industry
  • 98,462 employees
    Employees Worldwide
  • 262 employees
    Employees in Saudi Arabia
  • Brentford, Middlesex, U.K.
    Country of Origin
When we look at the size of the population, the strategic position of the country geographically speaking, the importance this country has in a political and economic sense for the GCC and the wider Middle East, and the activity being done with the Vision 2030, all these things are unique conditions that make us think differently about the market.
The choices that we make now and the capacity to partner with the government on Vision 2030 will determine whether or not we succeed with our investment. But the conditions are there for it. Saudi Arabia is a country that looks for good healthcare access for the population. That’s critical for us. We are also supporting and aligning with a country that believes in innovation and protects innovation.
The SFDA is making a massive effort to speed up innovation, which is a really positive improvement. The country as a whole is showing impressive efforts to make business easier. There are several reasons why we believe that Saudi Arabia will continue to support and create conditions for innovation. One of these conditions is a relatively fast and very reliable regulatory process.
If you look from the perspective of a new company entering the market, the Kingdom’s main competitive advantages are the investment effort brought about by SAGIA and the new economic cities. This creates an excellent level of incentives to develop new factories locally and discussing partnerships.
Luciano Andrade
Country Manager
GSK Saudi Arabia
beta

غلاكسو سميث كلاين

الإنتاج المحلي يساعد على تلبية الطلب المتزايد على المنتجات الصيدلانية.

تفتخر المملكة العربية السعودية لكونها من أكبر الأسواق الدوائية بين أسواق دول مجلس التعاوني الخليجي ، حيث شهد هذا القطاع  تطورا واسعا خلال القرن الماضي. العديد من العوامل التي ساهمت في تطور قطاع صناعة وتوزيع وتسويق الدواء في المملكة مثل الزيادة السكانية وارتفاع معدل الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للفرد. وكذلك ارتفاع نسبة حالات الأمراض الغير معدية. والتي تتطلب العلاج على مدى طويل.

 

أطلقت المملكة في عام 2016 إستراتيجية رؤيتها 2030 التي تضمنت صناعة الدواء في السوق المحلي كرافد هام من روافد النمو في القطاع الاقتصادي الغير نفطي للسعودية. وفي هذا الخصوص، تؤسس الحكومة لبيئة تشجع المصنعين المحليين والدوليين في صناعة الدواء للاستثمار في توسعة الإمكانيات المحلية لهذا القطاع. كرافد هام من روافد التطوير ي تضمنت صناعة الدواء في السوق المحلي  تجديد.بحق تحسناً إيجابيا. ة مع أسواق صناعة الدواء الاخرى المتطو

 

وفي هذا السياق، ركزت شركة جلاكسو سميث كلاين (GlaxoSmithKline)، وهي شركة بريطانية متخصصة في منتجات و خدمات الرعاية الصحية وتتميز على التواجد المؤثر بدورها في تصنيع وإنتاج أدوية أمراض الجهاز التنفس والتهابات الكبد الوبائية واللقاحات وغيرها من المنتجات الدوائية والصيدلانية الاستهلاكية الأخرى المشهورة التي تحمل اسم GSK ، حيث استمرت جلاكسو على بيع منتجاتها  في المملكة منذ 60 عام وتعكف في الفترة الأخيرة على توسعة عملياتها في المنطقة.

 خلفية عامة عن شركة جلاكسو سميث كلاين

يرجع تاريخ جلاكسو في المملكة الى الربع الأخير من القرن الماضي، في عام 1992، أبرمت جلاكسو سميث كلاين عقد شراكة مع شركة باناجة القابضة المحدودة حيث بدأت أنشطتها في المملكة العربية السعودية. ولقد كان المصنع الذي بناه الشركاء هو أول مصنع للأدوية  لشركة عالمية تم تشييده في المملكة العربية السعودية.

 

كانت هذه الخطوة الرائدة، عندما كانت صناعة الدواء في المملكة في بدايتها، وهو الأمر الذي عزز من تواجد شركة جلاكسو سميث كلاين في المملكة، وقد تخلل تلك الفترة عدداَ من الصعوبات في السوق المحلي في بعض السنوات، إلا إن الشركة حافظت على مكانتها المتميزة في صناعة الدواء في المملكة . ولقد استمرت الشركة في تطوير وتحديث تجهيزات مصانعها على مدى السنوات الخمس والعشرين الماضية. والآن، فإن 80% من مجمل منتجاتها يتم تصنيعها في مصنعها بمدينة جدة. 

 

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، قامت الشركة برفع استثماراتها بشكل كبير في العقد الأخير ، حيث قامت شركة جلاسكو في 2012 باتخاذ قرار  بتوطين صناعة الدواء في السوق المحلي لما يتراوح ما بين 40 إلى 50 منتج مرة واحدة. ثم بدأت الشركة في عام 2013 بتعبئة أدوية اللقاحات والأدوية الصحية الاستهلاكية محليا. ولقد كانت بهذه الخطوة أول شركة تقوم بالتصنيع لأي نوع من اللقاحات في المملكة العربية السعودية. وعلى خلفية هذه القرارات ، توسع نشاط جلاكسو سميث كلاين بشكل كبير في المملكة حيث تصدرت الشركة قائمة الشركات المصنعة للأدوية الصيدلانية في السوق بحلول عام 2014.  واستمرارا لسياسيتها التوسعية  في تصنيع اللقاحات محليا ، قامت الشركة البريطانية بتوقيع صفقة مع مصنع  AraBio . ومع التغيير في قوانين الملكية الأجنبية في المملكة في عام 2017، استحوذت جلاكسو سميث كلاين على حصة أخرى من السوق المحلية بلغت نسبتها 26% ، حيث تبلغ حصتها في الوقت الحاضر 75% في شركة جلاكسو سميث كلاين السعودية.

 

خطة محلية طموحة

تأتي هذه التحركات متزامنة مع النمو الكبير لسوق الدواء في الوقت الذي أنطلقت فيه سوق  الدواء في المملكة. ومن خلال الدعم الحكومي ، والرغبة في تنويع موارد الإيرادات القومية وسوق استهلاكية سريعة النمو تدعم السوق المحلية. تبلغ حصة المملكة 59.4% من مشتريات دول الخليج من الأدوية.  وليس من المحتمل حدوث أي تغيير لتلك النسب في وقت قريب، في ظل وجود سوق نامية بمعدل 10% تقريبا سنويا.

 

فضلاً عن ذلك ، ووفقا لبرنامج التحول الوطني ورؤية المملكة 2030، رصدت الحكومة أهداف طموحة للقطاع، اشتملت على زيادة حصتها في الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للقطاع الغير نفطي من 0.98% إلى 1.97% بحلول 2020.  وبالمثل أيضاً، تتطلع الحكومة الى رفع حصة التصنيع المحلي في قطاع الأدوية من 20% إلى 40% في نفس الفترة.

 

الاستثمار  على المدى الطويل

 

كما تميزت  شركة جلاكسو سميث كلاين بصفتها من أوائل الشركات دخولاً لسوق الدواء السعودي ولن تكتفي بذلك الحد وما حققته من إنجازات، حيث تخطط للمحافظة على مكانتها المتميزة في السوق بسعيها لاكتشاف كل الفرص لتوسعة استثماراتها خلال السنوات الثلاثة القادمة و تشتمل توجهات الشركة في هذا السياق على خططها التوسعية في عمليات إنتاجها في مصنعها بمدينة جدة بنسبة 30% في هذه الفترة وكذلك في استثمارات جانبية أخرى.

تطلق الشركة على هذه المرحلة اسم "المرحلة جديدة" وقد بدأت بالفعل في  مناقشة مشاريعها التوسعية في السوق المحلية مع الهيئة العامة للاستثمار  والجهات المعنية الأخرى في المملكة. لقد قامت شركة جلاكسو سميث كلاين بإفتتاح مكتبها العملي الفني و تهدف حاليا إلى إطلاق كيان تجاري. تتصور الشركة بأن هذه التوجهات و التحركات الاستثمارية سيخدم نشاطاتها الحالية , ستعمل على مدى السنوات العشر الى العشرين القادمة، مثلما حدث في بداية التسعينات عندما وضعت برنامجاً ناجحاً على مدى العقدين الماضيين.

 

تتطلع الشركة على المدى الطويل الى استثماراتها بما يعكس رؤيتها تجاه عملها في المملكة، حيث تعكف شركة جلاكسو سميث كلاين في الوقت الحاضر على دراسة مدى جدوى استخدام المملكة كمحور تصدير لدول مجلس التعاون الخليجي. تعتبر تطبيق هذه الخطط ضمن أهداف الشركة على المدى المتوسط والطويل. حيث أن الإنتاج السعودي يغطي السوق المحلي في الوقت الحالي ، بينما تغذي مصانع الشركة في أوربا احتياجات دول الخليج من الأدوية.

 

ثمة طموحات أخرى على المدى الطويل اشتملت على عمليات البحث والتطوير في المملكة، بالرغم من أن ذلك التوجه سيتوقف على تقوية الإمكانيات التنظيمية والفنية للمؤسسات التنفيذية المحلية. فمن المحتمل أن يكون نطاق العمليات في المملكة مقتصرا على إيضاح هذا التساؤل حول حجم و مقياس السوق وحصتها فيه. يمكن إضافة عدد من المنتجات الجديدة، بما في ذلك مجموعة اللقاحات ومنتجات التقنية الحيوية التي يمكن إضافتها لقائمة منتجات الشركة في الأعوام القادمة. 

 

تركز الشركة في خططها على المدى القصير  على تحقيق أجندتها في التوطين ، ليس فيما يتعلق بالمحتوى والانتاج فحسب ولكن أيضا فيما يتعلق بالموارد البشرية. يشتمل ذلك على خطط وبرامج تهدف الى استمرارية الكوادر الوطنية و تفعيل برامج التوظيف و التدريب للسعوديين  وتحسين معدلات التوظيف. 

 

إن رغبة الشركة في دعم و إحتضان الكوادر الوطنية ,جذب رؤوس الأموال الى السوق السعودي , وضع وتطوير إستراتيجية طويلة المدى للنمو والتوسع وهو دليل على نجاح توطين نشاط صناعة الدواء في المملكة. في الحقيقة , إن قصة شركة جلاكسو سميث كلاين في المملكة هي ترجمة حقيقية لجدوى خطط الحكومة للتوسع في صناعة الدواء وفق رؤية المملكة 2030. 

 

 

مقابلة مع الرئيس التنفيذي

لوسيانو أندرادي، المدير الإقليمي للشركة في المملكة العربية السعودية.

ما هي الأوضاع الحالية للاستثمار في المملكة العربية السعودية؟

عندما ننظر الى حجم التركيبة السكانية في المملكة والوضع الاستراتيجي لها من الناحية الجغرافية، والأهمية التي تكتسبها المملكة في الوضع السياسي والاقتصادي لدول مجلس التعاون الخليجي والشرق الأوسط بشكل عام، والنشاط الجاري حاليا بخصوص رؤية المملكة 2030، تعتبر هذه الظروف كلها ظروف فريدة تجعلنا نفكر بطريقة مختلفة حول السوق. ونحن كـ GSK، نظرا لتواجدنا هنا منذ 65 عام ونظرا لأن مصنعنا المحلي يقع في المملكة العربية السعودية، فإن 80% من منتجاتنا يتم توطينها بطريقة معينة، نحن نعتبر أنفسنا في وضع استراتيجي لنكون جزء من الحركة التنموية التي تتوقعها المملكة من القطاع الخاص تحديدا في صناعة الدواء المحلي خلال السنوات القادمة.

 

الاختيارات التي نجريها في الوقت الحاضر  والمقدرة على المشاركة مع الحكومة على رؤية المملكة 2030 ستحدد مدى نجاخنا في استثماراتنا في ظل ظروف المملكة وأوضاعها التي تتطلع الى تطوير قطاع الرعاية الصحية، فلا شك أن هذا الأمر  في غاية الأهمية بالنسبة لنا ونحن ندعم ونساند توجهات المملكة في تشجيعها الابتكار وحماية حقوق المبتكرين. وهناك حاجة إلى الاستمرار في وضع شروط ملائمة ومستدامة للأسعار مقارنة بالشروط الحالية في الأسواق الناشئة الأخرى. حيث سيكون ذلك التوجه بمثابة أحد العناصر التي تحدد خطوتنا التالية.

إن رغبة الحكومة في جعل بيئة العمل أكثر ملائمة للسوق في المستقبل والحاجة لوضع سياسة شراء صحيحة فذلك يحفز على الاستثمار الذي يجلب أساليب تقنية جديدة للمملكة.  

 

ما الذي يمكن توطينه بطريقة مجدية وعملية في المملكة؟

اعتقد أن هناك بعض المنتجات والتقنيات التي يمكن إنتاجها وتعبئتها محليا، وخاصة الأقراص. ويكون الشرط الرئيسي أحيانا المقياس الإقتصادي. إذا كان العلاج لمرض غير سائد، فإن التوطين يفقد معناه من المنظور القياسي. من هذا المنطلق، تصنيع المنتج في مصنع دولي واحد يجعل المقياس أكثر واقعية. وفي بلد يتجاوز عدد السكان فيها 30 مليون نسمة، يعتبر قياس السوق السعودية مناسب لأدوية بعض الأمراض. بمعنى أن ما نحتاجه هو  شروط واقعية للشراء وإمكانيات للتصدير  وكذلك الإمكانيات التنظيمية والفنية لاستيعاب الإنتاج الجديد. ولا شك أن إدخال لقاحات جديدة في المملكة سوف يخلق تحديات جديدة للجهة المنظمة، (هيئة الغذاء والدواء)، وذلك فيما يتعلق بوضع معايير  واشتراطات صحيحة.

وأنا أعتقد بأن شركات الأدوية يمكنها إدخال وسائل وأجهزة منتجات التكنلوجيا الحيوية إلى المملكة العربية السعودية. ويمكن القول إجمالا بأن توطين الإنتاج مبني على: المقاييس الإقتصادية، مدى إمكانية التنبوء الصحيح والتسعير المناسب و الصبر لتطوير  الإمكانيات الفنية المحلية.

 

هناك توجه في الوقت الحاضر  لمسألة البحث والتطوير المحلي، وهذا التوجه صحيح مصنعي الدواء يستثمرون بشكل أكبر في مجال الأبحاث والتطوير عن عملية الإنتاج. ولكن من المهم الأخذ في الاعتبار  بأن عملية البحث والتطوير  هي عملية معقدة من منظور المعرفة المحلية والالتزام وحماية الملكية الفكرية. وإنها منتشرة في الوقت الحاضر في الولايات المتحدة وأووربا بسبب وجود النظم البيئية المعترف بها قانونيا.

بمقدورنا تطوير مجال البحث والتطوير في المملكة ولكن يجب الأخذ في الاعتبار بأننا سنتنافس مع أسواق صناعة الدواء الأخرى المتطورة وذلك فيما يتعلق بالجوانب الخاصة بإمكانياتها ولوائحها. 

 

هل لاحظتم أي تحسينات في الإجراءات المتعلقة بنظام وتسجل المنتجات الجديدة في السوق المحلي؟

نعم ، لاشك أن جهود هيئة الغذاء والدواء ملحوظة بشكل كبير في هذا الجانب من ناحية الابتكار والتجديد والتي تعتبر  بحق تحسناً إيجابيا. أن كافة المسئولين يبذلون جهود حثيثة لتسهيل عمليات الاستثمار في المملكة. وهناك عدة أسباب تجعلنا نعتقد بأن المملكة عازمة على الاستمرار في جهودها الرامية لتوفير بيئة عمل محفزة على الابتكار والتجديد، ومن ضمن تلك الظروف المحفزة هي سرعة العملية التنظيمية الموثوقة.

 

ما هي المعوقات التي تواجهكم في تأسيس عمليات محلية وطريقة تغلبكم عليها؟

لقد شهد العام الماضي العديد من التغييرات. واعتقد أن هناك تكييف للاحتياجات المستهدف تطبيقها مع المواطنين السعوديين والطريقة التي تعمل بها الشركات العالمية تحديدا. هناك تعديل ثقافي هام يتعلق بالإجراءات وتبَني أفضل الأساليب العالمية. ونحن نرحب بتشجيع الكوادر الوطنية والتي نعتقد بأنه الاتجاه الصحيح للاقتصاد الوطني على المدى الطويل. و يمكن الجدال حول مناقشة التغيير، ولكننا نتفهم تماما توجه المملكة. وخلاصة القول نرى بأننا نتعامل مع معدل تغيير ودوران عالٍ نسبيا، وهذا يتطلب تبني استراتيجيات توظيف مبتكرة للحفاظ على الكوادر الوطنية الجيدة.

 

 

يوجد لدينا العديد من النماذج الجيدة للكوادر السعودية التي تم تطويرها وصقل مهاراتها وإمكانياتها  في مرافقنا المحلية وتسهم حاليا بشكل فاعل في تطور الصناعة. لقد قمنا بتأسيس برنامج قادة المستقبل. ونحن نقوم بتوظيف عدد من الخريجيين السعوديين سنويا والحاقهم بمختلف الوظائف المناسبة لمؤهلاتهم في مواقع الشركة المختلفة. يستهدف هذا البرنامج إلى تقديم خطط تدريب وتأهيل لهم على المدى الطويل وذلك لتطوير مهاراتهم وإمكانياتهم ومن ثم الانخراط في سوق العمل لقيادة أعمال الشركة في المملكة في المستقبل.

لقد نجحنا على مدى العامين الماضيين في تنفيذ هذا البرنامج لفريق واعد مكون من ستة كوادر وطنية شابة. الجدير بالذكر أن البرنامج يستهدف كوادر مختارة وذلك بهدف رغبة الشركة في سرعة تدريبهم وتأهيلهم لتمكينهم من العمل بمناصب ادارية ضمن الشركة.

ومن الناحية التشغيلية، فإننا ننظر  الى الطريقة الأمثل التي يمكن من خلالها تعزيز عملية اختيارنا لأفضل الكوادر التي تتوائم مع متطلبات العمل و التكييف في الشركة.

إن معدل التغيُر  يصب بشكل كبير في مدى التأقلم مع متطلبات العمل كقطاع خاص عوضا عن المؤهلات أو الإمكانيات الفردية أو التقنية. 

 

ما هو تقييمكم للبنية التحتية و البيئة اللوجستية في المملكة العربية السعودية؟ وما هي المزايا التنافسية؟

نحن كشركة تعمل في المملكة منذ أكثر من 65 عاما، مازلنا نواجه بعض المعوقات في الجانب الجمركي ، وكذلك إجراءات الموانئ والتأشيرات. وعلى وجه الأخص ، موضوع التأشيرات لأننا لو أردنا توسعة نشاط عملنا وجلب التقنية الجديدة، فإننا نحتاج جلب خبراء فنيين متخصصين من جميع أنحاء العالم. ولكننا نشهد بعض التحسينات والتقدم في هذا الجانب.

 

إذا كنت تنظر من منظور شركة جديدة تدخل السوق، فإن المزايا التنافسية الرئيسية للمملكة هي عبارة عن فرص الاستثمار التي تقدمها الهيئة العامة للاستثمار والمدن الاقتصادية الجديدة مما يوفر حوافز عديدة لإنشاء المصانع المحلية و فرص الشراكات المختلفة

الوجود العالمي
150
تاريخ التأسيس عالميًا
1715م
تاريخ الدخول للسوق السعودي
1950م
مجموع الإيرادات في السعودية
مايقارب 200 مليون جنيه استرليني
معدل السعودة
21%
معدل توظيف الإناث
7%
غلاكسو سميث كلاين
  • المملكة العربية السعودية
    الموقع
    • تعمل في البحث وتطوير وتصنيع الأدوية واللقاحات
    • منتجات الرعاية الصحية للمستهلك
    الأنشطة والخدمات
  • الصحي والأدوية
    القطاع الصناعي
  • أكثر من 98,462
    الموظفين في جميع أنحاء العالم
  • 262 موظف في السعودية
    الموظفين في المملكة العربية السعودية
  • برينتفورد، ميدلسكس، المملكة المتحدة
    بلد المنشأ
beta